‘Rambling with Bellur’ turns 5!

May 31, 2011


Celebrating the Quinquennial anniversary!
Design: RK

When I was first told “People would like to read your experiences, why don’t you start a blog?”, I didn’t really take it seriously. I kept reading various blogs (I still do). I really like the way some of the bloggers share their thoughts in such fantastic style. You can really feel the flow in their thoughts.


RwB at Blogspot: The first post

One cloudy morning, when RwB found yours truly here in the blogosphere five years ago, it was just a casual ‘Hi!’ from both of us, and nothing more. But after I shifted from blogspot to WordPress (thanks to Sanjay), I  felt nice coming here and rambling around the place. I have enjoyed writing and designing at RwB. Being a fan of quizzes, I have enjoyed putting up a few, and have always looked forward to your answers! And it feels nice that all of you have appreciated the cartoons and collages here. On rare occasions, RwB designs got featured in some newspaper articles and French textbook. RwB has not only introduced me to a wide range of people, it has helped me get a good career break too!


Blogging is a bane


A recent collage

Feels great to know that there are readers here who look forward to a post related to specific festivals, birthdays, topics, ads, songs or some information! When I posted the 69th Rama Navami Music Festival schedule, by Sri Rama Seva Mandali on March 14 2007, little did I know it would become the beginning of an annual affair, just like the Music fest itself! Every year, by November, RwB starts getting comments asking when I would be posting the next year’s schedule!

For a few days in between, I felt like a Senior Rehab Expert when some readers asked me serious questions about a peculiar disease called Blog Addiction! Some asked me deeper questions when I posted possible cures for Blog addiction!

I am overwhelmed by the response these posts have received:

 

Digging into some of the ‘gilky’ designs (above), I’ve done over the years to celebrate a milestone here at RwB, brought a smile today!

A few months after I took a hiatus in 2007, I got a letter from an avid reader of RwB. I felt humbled reading it and published it as a separate post ‘coz the reader had told me that I had become lazy. Mr.Rangachary, thanks for that strong letter!

Today, everyone has got totally hooked onto FB and Twitter. Top brands are smart enough to join existing social networking sites (like Facebook, Twitter, MySpace, or LinkedIn) as they feel building their own might not get in as many footfalls (or finger falls!)! Also, joining one makes it possible to engage in community conversation on (more or less) equal footing. I feel these popular social networking sites are like very popular malls people love to visit. And stay there.

After the FB-Tweet revolution, blogging looks an old man’s pastime! People feel it strenuous to read anything more than 140 characters. But still it is great to see people come here and leave their feedback. I would like to thank everyone for visiting RwB. This blog is nothing without your active participation, encouragement and support.

Sharing knowledge is so important and it is really heartening that RwB has got excellent contributions by way of articles, Rangoli designs, cartoons and photographs from endearing readers. I have thoroughly enjoyed posting them and reading your insightful and appreciative comments. And thanks to Vasuki for making me write my solitary guest post for his Gaadi Slogans blog.

So here I am, after 5 years, 542 posts and close to 11 lakh classic hits!

With much gratitude and appreciation

Best wishes
Bellur Ramakrishna

SAY NO TO SMOKING. YES TO BLOGGING!

  • Let me know YOUR FAVOURITE POST at RwB.
11 Responses to “‘Rambling with Bellur’ turns 5!”

  1. Sanjay M Says:

    Great going bellur… cheers to a lot more entertaining posts! I think this is the first time I’m seeing your photo there as well :)

  2. Vasuki Says:

    Congratulations Bellur! Yours was one of the earliest blogs I started reading, and has been an inspiration for me. Really love your blog, though the only complaint I have is the frequency of your posts! :)

  3. praneshachar Says:

    wow super and hearty congratulations to bellur for the nice 5th birthday post.
    wish you many many more years of health happy blogging!!
    hurrah from all of us here in MB to you our beloved bellur.
    we are indeed proud to be your friend.
    I know each one will agree with lots and loads of affectionate hugs.
    happy happy birthday RwB

  4. Shruthi Says:

    wonderful! very nice post to commemorate the occasion!

    Wish you many more years of ACTIVE blogging :D

  5. Srilakshmi Suresh Says:

    Congratulations!

  6. Mala Iyer Says:

    Hi Bellur,

    This is Mala here from Engrave.in. Congrats for turning 5 ! Read the post and could connect with your journey.

    Keep the posts coming.

    Regards,
    Mala Iyer

  7. neela Says:

    Congrats !


  8. [...] ‘Rambling with Bellur’ turns 5! [...]


  9. […] ‘Rambling with Bellur’ turns 5! […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 258 other followers

