“Well, what do you know about babies?”

October 25, 2006

rk1006jjย 

A 1950s Johnson’s Baby Oil and Powder ad – Great headline question that pulls you into reading the rest of the ad.

16 Responses to ““Well, what do you know about babies?””

  1. Prashanth Says:

    hehe!! nice one!!

  2. shark Says:

    Yesterday I was watching F.R.I.E.N.D.S.
    In that, one female is first time pregnant and she is totally freaked out as to how she will take care of the baby.
    When her mom tells her that she would need to change the baby’s diapers atleast 10 times a day… she says “WHAT! 10 times? what does the baby eat? INDIAN food?”….. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    It was supposed to be a comedy, so I laughed it off…. but they made fun of our food…:(((

  3. Gangadhar Says:

    Shall i say it’sa classic one,RK? ๐Ÿ™‚

    cheers

  4. Veena Shivanna Says:

    Ha Ha Ha.. Fantastic.. I really love some ads in specific. They start in such a way that we became curoius.. Some Ads are really so hi-Fi Its difficult to understand what was it about… I enjoy the Ads sometime better than the programs. ontara maja baratte. Some to Name, Dairy Milk chochclate(one lady jumping into the cricket field, one guys throwing the chochlate to his wife in a moving bus etc.,), one Candom ad(I don’t remember) which has the Maali cleaning the bed & the coat jumps, Tata Indica, Maruti (to reach the service centre)..
    Some Ads are really boring & they hardly change the way they market their products. Specially these soaps & detergents. I really liked that Surf & ariel ads. which said something like ‘dooNdthe reh jaavogi’… These are few things, which is global .. The Advertisements…, everybody wants to advertise their products & promote it.. The Parents are no different, they want to promote their kids! My son is an IIT rank holder is a kind of promotion enantheera ??

  5. Veena Shivanna Says:

    which time do wordpress follow ? Pacific, Central or what ? My comments seem to have got posted at 1:31 pm… Its 7:14pm here. Its European web domain by any chance ?

  6. travel plaza Says:

    Cool one RK. I love the ad. Some ads are so creative.

  7. rk Says:

    prashanth,
    ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks.

    shark,
    the script writer of the serial must be made to eat his/her own words. (no pun intended). by the way, ever noticed how many people eat with their fingers and talk with their fork?

    ganga,
    glad you found it “Classic” and not what you get when you remove the first four letters of the word!

    veena,
    happy you liked it. there have been many well made ads by indian ad makers. fevicol and amul come to mind immediately. in fact, amul has the distinction of being the longest running ad campaign in the world. the moppet (girl) featured in the amul ad is very popular. more about her and amul in a future post of mine. i also love the great volkswagen ads made in the sixties. they were so popular that the ads were recited at campus parties by college kids. they were the marketing conversation piece of the time. again, i can go on and on about the ‘Beetle’ ads. (VW was known by this name as the car resembled the insect). so let me stop now. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    i don’t know which timezone WP follows. maybe i need to check!

    tp,
    true, you just cannot forget some ads, isn’t it? example: Lalithaji of “Surf” ad! the story behind the ad is pretty interesting. It was in the mid 1970s that competition emerged in the form of low priced detergents. These began challenging Surf’s supremacy both nationally and locally. It was also the time when a change in social trends was becoming discernible. Joint families were giving way to nuclear families. It was also the time when the financially and socially empowered Indian woman was emerging. With increasing decision-making powers, women had become value conscious, seeking maximum stretch for their money – without any compromise on quality.
    Riding on this wave, Surf created the famous icon of ‘Lalitaji’ – the sensible, value-conscious housewife. She was practical, sensible, challenging, a no nonsense personality who saw beyond the make-belief – a woman with a mind of her own. She understood value and quality and made smart choices. With ‘โ€ฆaadha kilo Surf ek kilo sadharan powder ke baraabar hai’ Surf was positioned as the ‘sensible buy’- and helped the brand to take on the challenge posed by the low priced detergents.

  8. Veena Shivanna Says:

    Bellur, how do you manage to read all the comments & comment back. Blogging needs lot of commitment of time from onself. Today I spend some couple of minutes reading & logging comments & I had to drive back home at 10:30pm late night. I was thinking I could have used my afternoon time better when I was so scared getting back home! not for the dark but for the people at home ๐Ÿ™‚

    Afterall, Its in office that I can do what I really want to so …I got back to my habit of spending time on my favourites when half of the world is sleeping. I was reading about some famous personalities on web & most of them said you can compromise on sleep if too much time is needed for the rest of the work, my doctor husband says human body needs atleast 6 hours of sleep. My manager expects me to be in office at sharp 8:30pm. My inlaws will need me to cook breakfast & my minds want to read, write & do a lot.. so what is that I need to compromise on ? .. No Idea!!! Absoultely.. you can tell me that.

    Lalitha’s ad was fantastic no doubt. I dont get to see the celebrity anymore. Rajni (Priya tendulkar) also made a unforgettable entry! Honelsty all the ads you told me I don’t understand them at all. Fevicol ad was fantastic… yes! And also the Hero Cycle Ad, Mayur Suitings..

    Hey like that smell post, why don’t you write one such post with all ads ?


  9. It is surprising that when we discuss about ads, we mention the ads of tv only. The ads in the print, i.e newspapers, magazines,hand bills, posters, labels etc. and also of radio have much longer history.

  10. rk Says:

    Veena,
    Usually, my areas of interests are limited. And when I get interested in something, I get totally addicted to it and it really takes a lot of effort to get me out of it. That is how I got to do the scrapbooks, collages and stuff. Same with blogging. I have got obsessed to it.
    Nice to know that you are interested in reading and writing. I feel you can make time for whatever you want to do if you are early to bed and early to rise.
    Lalithaji was a very good actor, her popular serial UDAAN was a hit, as we know. Priya Tendulkar’s untimely death was a blow to the theatre world.
    Will write more about the popular ads in the future. Just saw that the timezone that WP follows is GMT. Take care.

    TSSM,
    Having done some print ads and radio jingles myself as a Graphic Designer and RJ, I agree with you. I have mentioned about the AMUL ads in a above comment, which is a print ad. And how popular were those lines! I have a collection of all the amul ads since the time of EMERGENCY filed in my archives. Makes wonderful timepass to just flip through them during coffee time. As for the Radio ads, I still remember ‘Nanjanagudu Hallu Pudi’ and another popular ad was the ‘UPAHARA DARSHANI’ ad (in mid ’80s) which used to be relayed quite a number of times during NANDANA in the morning and BRINDAVANA in the evenings on Vividhbharathi. And how people thronged the place after listening to those mouth-wateringย ad!


  11. Well, talking about babies,

    I have seen a cousin of mine, being placed on a ‘mora’ (which is used for winnowing grains, actually), shortly after birth. Any reason as to why such an act ?.

    One thing is for sure. Child/ren are the cynosure for the mother and hence the father shall and will lose all importance for them. One should be prepared for that. only when the child/ren grow up to, say 6 0r 7 years, does the father regain some attention.

    But then what the heck, isn’t it life all about ? Just as the saying goes ” shishyaditcheth paraajayaat” ( the greatest happiness of a teacher is when, he is defeated by his own student !), for the father, it is time to step back and allow the limelight on the child.

    Incidentally, ‘Woodwards Gripewater’ is one of the older advertisements. Nimma maganigoo, adanna kodtha iddeera??

    Happy parenting

  12. Gangadhar Says:

    IC?
    And verywell said about Veena’s query,RK..liked it verymuch… ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Veena Shivanna Says:

    Ganga, enri adu…?? I would want to see your blog too. I am again scared of getting addicted. I already got caught by Mridula’s.. so I thought let me keep myself away!..

    Bellur, nanna comment na serious aagi togoMDu Ads post maadidralla bahala santhosha. It needs lot of time, & interest & patience.

    WIKITAKAVI(Wikipedia + Kavi).. ge Jayavaagali.

  14. rk Says:

    TSSM,
    Thanks for telling about the ‘Morada’ shastra.Will try finding more about it. And as for the father losing importance, to an extent true. I feel it is like this: From the time you are born, you are the center of your universe. You fall in love and, if youโ€™re lucky, you share a universe but you are still at the center.
    Then you have a baby.
    And the center of your universe moves from you to your baby. Things that were important to you are only important as they relate to your baby. And the happiness you get seeing your child grow and learn new things are priceless moments. Nice shloka you have mentioned. A Father/ Guru would certainly like to see his son/ disciple prosper and shine better than them. But there are rare cases where a son need not be like a father. And you know whom I am referring to! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Ganga,
    ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks.

    Veena,
    If you visit Gangadhar‘s blog, there is a treasure trove of information waiting for you. Enjoy the visit!
    Hasyaratna Tenali Ramakrishna obbarige VIKATAKAVI anno birudu oppodu!

  15. Gangadhar Says:

    Veena,
    very sad then…i’ve missed a vivid reader like ya..

    RK,
    welcome..
    And what did u say in kannada about vikatakavi..sorry…I’d love to know.. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. rk Says:

    ganga,
    my friend veena wrote that i should be called VIKATAKAVI for which i told that the title best suits only to HASYARATNA TENALI RAMAKRISHNA.


Leave a Reply

