‘Tata Nano’ Lizard

January 16, 2008

rwbnanolizard160108.jpg
Design: RK

Every human, and every car (remember Beetle?), resembles one or the other animal (ok, that includes reptiles, mammals, birds…). No, I’m not talking about Harbhajan-Symonds episode here.

The very first time I saw Tata Nano in the newspapers, I felt it looked so much like a dinosaur, a lizard, a chameleon. That was when I made this graphic to settle the issue (in my mind).

Update (courtesy Veena Prashanth): What do you think Tata Nano resembles?

20 Responses to “‘Tata Nano’ Lizard”

  1. Veena Says:

    wow! what an imagination and the way to settle the issue. Thanks, I will try some similar thing next time( I can’t cartoon may be I will write some lines) to releif my mind with many such things which keep wandering in my mind!…

    When I first saw the Nano, it looked like a frog 🙂

    May be you can add a line in your post asking what others felt when they first saw the Nano…

    and we can enjoy the comments alva RK…?

  2. dinsan Says:

    LOL. … guess what, the reason for all companies arrange vacation for employees .. to trekking and all is this………


  3. […] B Shantanu wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt Design: RK Every human, and every car (remember Beetle?), resembles one or the other animal (ok, that includes reptiles, mammals, birds…). No, I’m not talking about Harbhajan-Symonds episode here. The very first time I saw Tata Nano in the newspapers, I felt it looked so much like a dinosaur, a lizard, a chameleon. That was when I made this graphic to settle the issue (in my mind). […]

  4. Pallav Nayak Says:

    Hello,

    Like your imaging, good work. Best part is the scientific name.

  5. Naren - Says:

    For any car Design is v.important. For that matter Nano is Cute and marvellous.

    When I first saw on web on the date of release, It remembered me an age old car Popularly Known as “Kappe(Frog) Car” Around 15-20 years ago frog like cars were seen in bangalore. We were calling it as kappe car.

    Once Nano hits bangalore Roads, we can sing “car, car Elnodi car….” Literally!!!!

  6. GauharJK Says:

    Nano is a cheap and a good car. Unfortunately, it will lead to even more congestion in our cities. There is no way we can accommodate more cars on existing roads.

    I wish there were alternatives…

  7. parag Says:

    Rk,
    Nice comparison: lizard and car! Where do you get such ideas mate?

    Mr. Gauhar JK,
    To quote a few paragraphs from the cover story in India Today (Jan 21 2008 issue) [the portion in bold is wrt your comment above]:

    “Amidst the dizzying exhilaration, executives at Tata Motors are taking a reality check. It is still early days. The big challenge is to roll out the car, monitor its performance and meet expectations.

    Low cost is not necessarily a formula for success, as the dipping sales of the Maruti 800 prove, and there could be teething and even critical issues, as was the case with Indica.

    Other worries include the battle of perception being waged by environmentalists and competitors. Of course, the rant about congestion is arithmetically flawed because it would take years for Tata Motors to manufacture millions of cars to jam the roads.

    As of now, the best they can do at full capacity is 2.5 lakh cars, and that is less than half of the total planned capacity expansion in other car plants.

    The growth of the two-wheeler and car markets is an indictment of the failure of the public transport system. It is true that there is a dire need to improve the road network, but that is no argument to deny those at the lower levels of the pyramid the opportunity to improve the quality of their lives.”

  8. sastri Says:

    I wish there were alternatives…

    use a public bus. or tell everyone to use bicycle.

    WTH man! appreciate Tata’s efforts. India is not progressing ‘coz of you people.

    Btw, great design, RK!! Loved it.

  9. neel3 Says:

    It reminded me of the toy cars that my son collected as a kid… 🙂


  10. frogs are amphibians and lizards reptiles. since reptiles have evolved from amphibians, no wonder many readers compare ‘nano’ with frog!

    no comparisons please.
    ‘naanu’ ‘naane’
    ‘nano’ ‘nanone’
    naanu nano jodi
    ee jeevana Tata gaadi ………

    ‘naanu’, ‘neenu’, ‘nano’ – all ego builders…………….

  11. Mysorean Says:

    I feel the Nano is extremely cute. Though I doubt if I will fit into it considering my slightly extra large built! 😉

    I feel the Nano resembles a cat drinking milk with its eyes closed! (Okay I know that was abstract enough!) 😉


  12. […] WorldChanging Team wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptEvery human, and every car, resembles one or the other animal (ok, that includes reptiles, mammals, birds…). The very first time I saw Tata Nano in the newspapers, I felt it looked so much like a dinosaur, a lizard, a chameleon. … […]

  13. TSSM Says:

    ‘Lizardo da winci’.

  14. TSSM Says:

    a good piece of art Mr.”lizardo da winci”

  15. neel3 Says:

    TSSM sir : may I add ?
    RK is wizardo da vinci !!

  16. rk Says:

    neel,
    ‘wierdo’ would suit better.

  17. meghana2008 Says:

    wow !! what an imagination !


  18. Really it is good creativity…..and i am asking peoples to submit their creativity for Tata Nano Car Designs 🙂

  19. उन्मुक्त Says:

    रोचक

  20. shoopak Says:

    This is cool. Great imagination.cyprus car


Leave a Reply

