Letter from an erstwhile RwB reader

May 29, 2008

Dear Ramakrishna,

I am P.Rangachary. I am a retired IAS officer from Chennai and i USED to be an avid reader of your blog for a long time. I used to personally know the sadasivams and later on my brother was an employee of The Hindu and we were lucky to attend a few talks R.K.Narayan gave.

I got hooked on to your blog when i was browsing through the net a few years back and carefully tracked how you were writing. I used to silently read it week after week and enjoy it. But, It has been a long since you have put up a posting here. Why? What happened? For those who want to contribute, they can surely open their own blog. This is not a ayappa swamy Hundi or Dharma sathram nor is it rocket science for them to open their blog. It is not difficult.

This blog is ramblings with bellur and it is for you to ramble and people like me who are fans of yours, to read. The others will learn to ramble on their own blogs. They must learn to. It is an old indian adage to say that ‘the curry in the neighbours house is more tastier’. Similarly you are also getting these other outsiders to blog in your blog. Similarly, I used to be an avid reader of your blog till others started seeping in and the quality of writing and everything came down drastically. I was so disappointed that i decided to stop my weekly dosage of RwB. I have come back here after more then a year and i still don’t see you writing that much.

Pardon my ignorance or arrogance, but i think You have become lazy in the excuse of others contributing. Writing is a sadhana that you have taken up. You must stick to it. If you have any friends who are writers, you ask them and they will tell you how much one needs to be dedicated to a work like writing. I remember a great writer once when asked if someone else could write his books, he replied that the same someone else will also ask him if he could sleep with his wife, take over his property and so on and so forth. If you want to read others writing, you can go to their blogs. People like me (who used to be avid readers and fans of your writing) find it very disappointing to see you not writing. So, it is a kind request to you start again. I am sure you have many wonderful topics to write on. I will wait eagerly for the next posting and hopefully it will be from you.

I am not happy that you have got 3 lakh hits. If only you would have written, you would have 10 lakh by now. Let the other fellows go and write their own blogs. I can see that you are yourself encouraging others to write and contribute. It is not bad, but you will agree with me when i say that, the neighbourhood curry tastes nice, but only ONCE IN A WHILE. Overdosage of it can make you forget your own taste or even make you forget the very art of cooking. This is a sincere request from an old retired man. Do not spoil my fun i used to have , of reading this blog, by allowing others.

I hope you will not take me in the wrong sense. I am like a fatherly person to you. I hope to re-start my weekly reading of your blog and hopefully i will see some more of the exciting material i used to read here.

My regards to your family and your children.

Yours Sincerely
Rangachary
Chennai
India

19 Responses to “Letter from an erstwhile RwB reader”

  1. Cuckoo Says:

    I second his opinion. I still check your site daily for any updates.

    Hope you return back to writing very soon.

    Cuckoo


  2. This letter is so heart-felt and honest at core.

    I am glad you published it. I too look forward to your tidbits and cartoons. One post a week, guess that is possible. 🙂

  3. praneshachar Says:

    Bellur you must take the advise of a fatherly person and such an accomplished human being a letter from the core of his heart and it such an affectionate letter written with something he is missing i.e. your writing what a great compliment for you. bellur you
    must respect the sentiments of this great person and take time to revive your writings yes I know it is very difficult for you because of your new job and am sure atleast a weekly once post you must some how manage to honour his sentiments
    respected sir, sri. rangachary
    I am deeply touched by your such a open letter with so much of grace and love it is indeed a great day for bellur whom I know for last 18 months or so through blog and then on met him several times at his house and he has visited us no. of times and we are like a family now. all my family members know each one of them. it is a great family and I adore each one of them. I convey my warm regards onbehalf of of blog readers of RwB for such beautiful carved out letter
    namaskara

  4. Praveen GK Says:

    Agree with cuckoo, I felt the same way at one point of time 🙂 Since you are configured in my reader, I get the pleasure of reading the updates!!! Take care and keep writing.

  5. Veena Says:

    I am touched the way he has conveyed the message to you Bellur. Have said lot of things but not displaying any EGO factor or arrogance in it.

    Bellur, Hope you will start writing now.. and the Blogtoons pls!

  6. chatri Says:

    egaladru bariyakke shuru madi saar…….. me missing your blog as well……..

  7. latha Says:

    i am sure you no more can resist and say ‘no’ to your readers. i am already welcoming you back 🙂

  8. Vijay Says:

    Ramki,

    I just read this today. Very nice. Now I know that other than me, there is someone more serious to tell you to start writing again. You must start now. There is no other way.

  9. jarvarm Says:

    Hey RK, what’s this? You stopped writing?????
    Never expected!!
    Resume your wrting…


  10. Comm on Bellur IF you need inspiration then try in-spirit writing!

    Jokes apart, your’s is one of the finest blogs around. But do write whenever you feel like, don’t force yourself.

  11. Madhu Rao Says:

    Let’s pool some money so Bellur can go to CTR and get some inspiration via a masale.. ! 🙂

    I was reminiscing about your CTR post at one of the other blogs where I mistook another Ramki for you.

  12. neela Says:

    Revisited Malleshwaram.
    Said ‘hello’ to KVM.
    Visited CTR.
    Apreciated your choice.
    Thanks.


  13. A wonderful and touching compliment ! You should be proud, man. Three cheers…I am sure you will keep up the good work of creating and writing on this blog.

  14. Sanjay M Says:

    wow bellur he sure loves you as he’s living Suresh’s post of telling you the truth 🙂 Keep going bellur and as I’d noted today earlier today, googling for bellur returns Rwb as the first link! 8)

  15. Sanjay M Says:

    Was browsing RwB and just for the record found an old comment… posting an excerpt here…

    Shruthi Says:
    June 16, 2006 at 7:38 pm

    Bellur, what is this? Please post just two times a week or something… I have a huge backlog of your posts to read… each time I feel I am now up to date, I get tons of work, and you put up ten posts more 😀 — yeshto odakke aagilla :(((

  16. latha Says:

    my days pictures


  17. […] few months after I took a hiatus in 2007, I got a letter from an avid reader of RwB. I felt humbled reading it and published it as a separate post ‘coz the reader had […]

  18. KB Says:

    I remember you whenever I move in Malleswaram.I am really impressed by your selection of topics.


Leave a Reply

