Stamp on RK Narayan released

October 11, 2009

rwbrknstamp111009

First Day Cover and Stamp released by India Post in memory of R.K.Narayan. Date Of Issue:-10.10.2009.

The Karnataka Postal Circle, on Saturday released a commemorative postage stamp to mark the 103rd birth anniversary of legendary writer, novelist R K Narayan.

Good to see that the stamp design team have included Laxman’s cartoons, that so perfectly matched Narayan’s stories.

After reading and seeing the books of Laxman, I got to know that he also illustrated for the stories of his elder brother, RK Narayan. I remembered the serial “Malgudi Days”. One day, I kept seeing the cartoons accompanying a story by Narayan and just as a timepass, read the story. I was really surprised that how the story and the illustration could match so much. I read many other stories by Narayan and saw that the sketches were just perfect for the story. Gradually, I started reading all the short stories, essays, novels and articles written by RK Narayan. I collected all his books and got to know more about him through the ‘Frontline’ magazine, which brought out a special issue on the occasion of Narayan’s 90th birthday in 1996.

By now I was addicted to reading Narayan and seeing Laxman!

[Read full story]

Awaiting November 1, when Dr.Rajkumar’s stamp will be released!

***

Posts related to RK Narayan on RwB.

12 Responses to “Stamp on RK Narayan released”


  1. […] Read the original here:  Stamp on RK Narayan released […]

  2. Praveen Says:

    Isn’t it too late to confer him with such honor? Or can we say “better late than ever?”

    • rk Says:

      hi praveen,
      you mean ‘better late than NEVER’?
      i see the positive side – atleast people like you and me can put posts on our blogs saying that the RKN postage stamp was released y’day [i.e. during our times… which after 20 years, we will be calling THE GOOD OLD DAYS😉 ]…. if it had been done 30 years back, could we have had this rare honour? what say?
      you have a nice blog there. continue the good work.

      • Praveen Says:

        Oh yeh! I am sorry! that was a careless typo.
        I absolutely adore RKN and Malgudi Days.
        They are good old days for sure!
        BTW thanks for visiting me🙂

  3. Praveen Says:

    Aside, I have been reading you for long and this is the first time I commented🙂

  4. Praveen GK Says:

    Awesome, I did not know about it until I read your blog!

    Great news, indeed!

  5. arundhati Says:

    Where did you get the first day cover?
    I was only able to get the stamp.

  6. mouna Says:

    i know, it’s wonderful. felt glad after i read about it in the newspaper.

  7. karthik bellur Says:

    great…yet another rk narayan fan here
    i hv been following ur blog for sometime
    ur posts r xcellent so r ur cartoons
    keep up the good work!

  8. praneshachar Says:

    good to see so manh fans of RKN so also RWB
    nice to see stamps and cover thanks for sharing for all of us.
    Yah looking forward for NOV,1 for stamp of another great personality
    pranesh

  9. Srikanth Says:

    Thanks for the information, Bellur. I got my copy of RKN First Day Cover from Bangalore GPO today.


Leave a Reply

