I don’t remember

May 18, 2012

Was he in my team while playing Carrom that Saturday?
Was he playing white or black?
Who hit the last shot of the game?
Who won the final board?And the match?
I don’t remember.

Did he share a joke?
Did he scold me? Or did he give me a stare?
Did he pat me on the back?
Or did he smile at me that Saturday?
I don’t remember.

Did I say anything to him?
Did I ask anything?
Did I smile at what he told?
Or did I get angry at him that Saturday?
I don’t remember.

What did he say to me?
What did he ask me to do?
What did I give him?
What did he give me that Saturday?
I don’t remember.

What did I have for dinner with him that Saturday?
Where did he take me that Saturday?
What did I watch with him on TV that Saturday?
What song did he ask me to listen that Saturday?
I don’t remember.

Did he ask me to sing?
Read?
Write?
Or learn something new that Saturday?
I don’t remember.

Did I cry when he left me the day after Saturday?
Did I control my tears?
Did I sit still and benumbed?
Did I get angry? Was I shocked?
I don’t remember.

Has anyone showered me the same affection like HIM?
Has anyone motivated me like how HE would?
Has anyone corrected me like how HE would?
Has anyone ever understood me like how HE had?
I don’t remember.

Twenty Three years since he left me
Has there been a day
when I have not missed him?
And has there been a day
that I have written about him so much?
I don’t remember.
I don’t remember.
I don’t remember.

22 Responses to “I don’t remember”

  1. Shruthi Says:

    Very beautiful and very touching.

    • rk Says:

      Thanks, Shruthi.

    • Suma Says:

      Don’t know what to say… only lil younger bro! I think you just grew up with mom beside u & he must be living in you. So definitely you will not remember but experiencing him in your daily & family life!! Bcoz I remember his life style, personality & much more:) Everything missing from him to you shower it on your son…….

      Love & hugs & a big glass of milk,
      your terrible sis

      • rk Says:

        glad you stopped by! reading your comment, almost feeling like i’ve had a big glass o milk!🙂
        thanks for sharing your thoughts.
        your horrible bro

  2. Uma Suresh Says:

    It touched my heart.Felt very sad at the same time.
    God bless.
    Uma


  3. i understand. you may not remember what was said or done on those saturdays; but you surely remember how He had made you FEEL when He was around you! and the above poem is the outpourings of those emotions that are always remembered and forever etched in one’s heart! people come and go. but the aura lingers loooooooong after…………………

    • rk Says:

      so very true, aunty. i wanted to write something for MAY the 21st. but emotions don’t come on particular dates. they come when THEY want to, isn’t it? hence when the above lines started forming in my head early in the morning today, i had to record it…and i posted it once they flowed out, which happens quite rarely!

      i love your invaluable comments! thanks for your lines! keep dropping by!

  4. samaganam Says:

    Wow!He means a lot,aint he sir?
    Felt the same when I lost my Grandma,loved her more than my own parents.But refresh your good memories with him,you will feel lighter!!

  5. TSSM Says:

    Distances – do they matter?
    Presence or absence – do they matter?
    What matters – is the ever green memory,
    the abiding love and faith, which you have in plenty.
    He is up somewhere- looking down benevolently!
    He may be not there, but he has gifted you the progeny !!!
    grieve not, ’cause you are always connected !!!

  6. Radhika Says:

    Very touching. My eyes filled with tears.

  7. mouna Says:

    very touching rk🙂

  8. rk Says:

    thanks a lot, radhika and mouna!

  9. Roopa Pavan Says:

    It was a good experience to read the articles and contents on this site.

  10. Veena Says:

    Very Touching..

  11. parijata Says:

    Very touching… Don’t know what else to say!

  12. rk Says:

    roopa, veena, parijata, thanks for stopping by!🙂

  13. Lakshmi Says:

    Very touching….


  14. […] A post dedicated to my father Share this:FacebookEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]


Leave a Reply

