Sringeri Jagadguru Sri Sri Bharati Tirtha Mahaswamiji announces his successor today

January 4, 2015



Dakshinamnaya Sri Sharada Peethadhipati Jagadguru Shankaracharya Sri Sri Bharati Tirtha Mahaswamiji has announced His Shishya Sweekara. The Jagadguru Mahaswamiji made the announcement, divinely inspired by Goddess Sharadamba in His Anugraha Bhashanam given during the culmination of the Silver Jubilee Celebrations of His Peetharohanam. The Jagadguru has chosen Brahmachari Kuppa Venkateshwara Prasada Sharma to be His Uttaradhikari – the successor-designate to the Dakshinamnaya Sri Sharada Peetham. The Jagadguru announced that the Shishya Sweekara ceremonies will take place on 22nd and 23rd January 2015 at Sringeri. The Jagadguru will initiate the Brahmachari into Sannyasa on 23rd January 2015.

Devotees all over the world have rejoiced at the announcement coming on the joyous occasion of the Silver Jubilee Celebrations of the Jagadguru’s Peetharohanam.

The present Jagadguru Shankaracharya Sri Sri Bharati Tirtha Mahaswamiji, ascended the Throne of Transcendental wisdom at the Dakshinamnaya Sri Sharada Peetham, 25 years ago in 1989 and since then has been guiding thousands of devotees in the path of Dharma.

To commemorate the silver jubilee year of His accession to the Peetham, special functions along with Guru Vandanam are being conducted on the 3rd and 4th of January 2015 at Sri Math, Sringeri.

Uttaraadhikaari Kuppu Venkatesha Prasada Sharma


Uttaraadhikaari Kuppu Venkatesha Prasada Sharma (pic: AP News)



Left to right: Kuppa Venkateshwara prasada sharma with his parents Seeta naga lakshmi and Siva Subramanya Avadhani (pic: Deccan Chronicle)



Sri Bharati Thirtha Mahaswamigalu (in the background, is that the successor Sri Kuppa Venkatesha Prasad Sharma?!) (pic: The New Indian Express)




Sri Kuppa Venkateswara Prasada Sharma. (Photo: Sringeri Mutt website)


The Hindu reports:

Bharati Tirtha Swami of Sringeri Sharada Peetha has nominated Kuppa Venkateswara Prasada Sharma as his successor-designate. The seer announced this at a function in Sringeri recently.

The Shishya Sweekara ceremony will be held in Sringeri on January 22 and 23. Sharma will be initiated to ‘sanyasa’ on the second day.

Sharma was born in Tirupati in 1993 to Kuppa Shivasubrahmanya Avadhani and Seetha Nagalakshmi. At present, Sharma is the principal of TTD Veda Pathashala in Tirumala and project officer in Dharma Prachara Parishad of TTD. During his visit to Sringeri mutt in 2009, he had expressed his desire to study ‘shastras’ directly under Bharati Tirtha Swami.

Under his tutelage, he mastered Sanskrit and studied Tarka Shastra, said a release.

During his pravachana this evening, our poojya Jagadguru announced that he has, by the grace and approval of Goddess Sri Sharadamba, identified his successor and announced the successor’s name as Sri Kuppa Venkatesha Prasad Sharma (25 years). Sri Bharati Tirtha Mahaswamji told that he was training his successor for the past 5-6 years. The Shishya Sweekara Parigraha kaaryakrama (to continue the Guru-Shishya Paramapare started by Sri Adi Shankaracharya) will be held on January 22nd and 23rd, 2015 at the Sri Math, Sringeri.

More pics (courtesy: Sringeri Mutt website)

sharma-1 sharma-2 sharma-3 sharma-4 sharma-5 sharma-6 sharma-7 New Acharya5 New Acharya3 11 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Pics courtesy: Sringeri Mutt website, Bhakti TV, Sri Sankara TV

shruti smriti purANAnAm Alayam karuNAlayam
namAmi bhagavat pAda shankaram lOkashankaram

shankaram shankarAchAryam kEshavam bAdarAyaNam
sUtrabhAshya kritou vandE bhagavantau punah punah


Blessed is the Sishya ! Divine is the anugraha of Thaaye Sharadambe! Fortunate are we to witness this ceremony, the continuation of the great Guru-Sisya parampare!


List of Sringeri Dakshinamnaya Jagadgurus:

  1. Sri Shankara Bhagavatpada (788 – 820) (videha-mukti)
  2. Sri Sureshwaracharya (820-834)
  3. Sri Nityabodaghana (834-848)
  4. Sri Jnanaghana (848-910)
  5. Sri Jnanotthma (910-954 )
  6. Sri Jnanagiri (954-1038)
  7. Sri Simhagiri (1038-1098 )
  8. Sri Ishwara Tirtha (1098-1146)
  9. Sri Nrusimha Tirtha (1146-1229 )
  10. Sri Vidya Shankara Tirtha (1229-1333)
  11. Sri Bharati Krishna Tirtha (1333-1380)
  12. Sri Vidyaranya (1380-1386 )
  13. Sri Chandrasekhara Bharati I (1386-1389 )
  14. Sri Nrusimha Bharati I (1389-1408 )
  15. Sri Purushotthama Bharati I](1408-1448 )
  16. Sri Shankara Bharati (1448-1455 )
  17. Sri Chandrasekhara Bharati II (1455-1464 )
  18. Sri Nrusimha Bharati II (1464-1479 )
  19. Sri Purushotthama Bharati II (1479-1517 )
  20. Sri Ramachandra Bharati (1517-1560 )
  21. Sri Nrusimha Bharati III (1560-1573 )
  22. Sri Nrusimha Bharati IV (1573-1576 )
  23. Sri Nrusimha Bharati V (1576-1600 )
  24. Sri Abhinava Nrusimha Bharati (1600-1623 )
  25. Sri Sacchidananda Bharati I (1623-1663 )
  26. Sri Nrusimha Bharati VI (1663-1706 )
  27. Sri Sacchidananda Bharati II (1706-1741 )
  28. Sri Abhinava Sacchidananda Bharati I (1741-1767)
  29. Sri Nrusimha Bharati VII (1767-1770)
  30. Sri Sacchidananda Bharati III (1770-1814)
  31. Sri Abhinava Sacchidananda Bharati II (1814-1817 )
  32. Sri Nrusimha Bharati VIII (1817-1879 )
  33. Sri Sacchidananda Shivabhinava Nrusimha Bharati (1879-1912 )
  34. Sri Chandrasekhara Bharati III (1912-1954 )
  35. Sri Abhinava Vidyatirtha (1954-1989 )
  36. Sri Bharati Tirtha (1989-Present)
  37. Sri Vidhushekhara Bharati (Nominated Next)

5 Responses to “Sringeri Jagadguru Sri Sri Bharati Tirtha Mahaswamiji announces his successor today”

  1. mukundp41 Says:

    seeking your valued blessings  respected sir,  i am viewing your tv evening programme on astha and uch benefited but stil sir i need your valued blessigs to over come my present monetary debts problemsple bless us 7 obligeyours obediently.mukund barodaMukund Aassociates1239

  2. shreya Says:

    Very nice and valued post. Lots to learn and it automatically brings out an astha within. Leaves the mind in peace. Keep posting with lots more of li8ke such articles. Thank u for the share.

  3. Umasuresh Says:

    Felt very satisfied. Thank you dear Bellur.
    Uma and Suresh




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: